Emergency Hotline:


24 hours a day / 7 days a week

What is an Emergency?

Gas leaks, odor of gas, damaged lines, carbon monoxide symptoms and water main breaks are all considered emergencies.

If you smell gas, do not attempt to locate the leak. Instead, leave the house or building right away. Do not use any electrical switches, appliances, lights, telephones, or mobile devices, as an electrical charge could create a spark. When you are in a safe place, call M.U.D.'s emergency hotline at 402.554.7777 or 9-1-1.

If someone is showing symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning, call 9-1-1 immediately. Symptoms are like the flu.

If you have a water-related emergency, call 402.554.7777. Our personnel are ready to assist you 24/7. When in doubt, call us immediately.

Learn More
Metropolitain Utilites District
I want to:

Board of Directors

The District is governed by a board of seven directors, elected by our customer-owners. The board generally meets the first Wednesday of every month. A current agenda is available for public inspection at the M.U.D. office, 1723 Harney St., Omaha, NE, during normal business hours or by calling 402.504.7147. Draft agendas also are posted on our website www.mudomaha.com. Requests for special accommodations, alternative formats or sign language interpreters (signers) require a minimum 72 hours advance notice. Call 402.504.7147 or TTY phone 402.504.7024.

Beginning with the 2018 board elections, directors will be elected by subdivisions instead of at-large. To see who serves in your subdivision, enter your address into the interactive map.  **Please Note: You may bring any issues to any director regardless of the subdivision in which you reside.**

To view live and archived board meetings, visit the Livestream page. 

Click to read the Board bylaws.

To locate your board member, click here.


David J. Friend - Subdivision 2

Board Chairperson

Elected 2000; re-elected 2006, 2012

17 years with M.U.D.

Tim Cavanaugh - Subdivision 4


Chief Deputy, Douglas County Treasurer's Office; Retired Captain, Omaha Police Dept.

Appointed 1999; elected 2002; re-elected 2008, 2014

18 years with M.U.D.

Gwen Howard - Subdivision 3

Retired Social Worker; Former Nebraska State Senator (2005-2013).

Elected 2014

3 years with M.U.D.

Mike McGowan - Subdivision 6

Retired natural gas executive

Appointed 2010; Elected 2016

4 years with M.U.D.

James P. Begley - Subdivision 1

Compensation Manager, City of Omaha

Elected 2012

5 years with M.U.D.

Thomas F. Dowd - Subdivision 5

Senior Partner, Dowd, Howard & Corrigan, Attorneys-at-Law

Elected 1974; re-elected 1980, 1986, 1996, 2002, 2008, 2014

39 years with M.U.D.

Jack Frost - Subdivision 7

Real Estate

Elected 1986; re-elected 1992, 1998, 2004, 2010, 2016

31 years with M.U.D.